Celebrate Thanksgiving with these 7 great reads by US female authors 💪💪💪

Thanksgiving is celebration of all the blessings of the year – and at Severn House we’re truly blessed by all our great authors. This year, we wanted to shout loudly about our amazing American female authors by highlighting just some of their latest releases.

No matter what your Thanksgiving vacation looks like, here are seven great reads you’ll be excusing yourself early from the dinner table to finish. Women of Severn House, we raise a glass to you and your amazing talent!

Whether you buy or borrow (we 💖 libraries), happy reading – and Happy Thanksgiving!

Death with Dostoevsky – Katherine Bolger Hyde

Cosy crime and classic literature – a match made in heaven, right?! In the entertaining fourth Crime with the Classics “winning cozy” (Booklist), Professor Emily Cavanaugh makes a horrific discovery while writing her book on Dostoevsky. If you like traditional Golden Age mysteries written by Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers, this is a perfect pick.

Amazon UK / Amazon US

Puddin’ on the Blitz – Tamar Mayars

The success of Magdalena Yoder’s new Amish-Asian restaurant is threatened by murder in the deliciously quirky new Pennsylvania-Dutch mystery. This wickedly funny culinary cozy will whet your appetite for your Thanksgiving lunch, for sure. Perfect for fans of Diane Mott Davidson – or just for fans of delicious food!

Amazon UK / Amazon US

Unfinished Business – Nora Roberts

Nora Roberts needs no introduction to romance fans – the New York Times bestselling author has written over 200 novels and there are more than 500 million copies of her books in print. This is a hardback collectors’ edition of a fan-favourite classic novel. If you love sweet, slow-burn, second-chance romances, you’ll love this.

Amazon UK / Amazon US

Lady of Perdition – Barbara Hambly

“For fans of this fine series, this is a must-read” say Booklist in a Starred Review. We’d absolutely agree, but add that new readers will be just as enthralled by this “riveting” (Kirkus Reviews) historical crime novel, where former slave Benjamin January takes a perilous journey to the “Slaveholders’ Republic” of Texas to locate a kidnapped girl and help a woman who saved him from the noose.

Amazon UK / Amazon US

Journaled to Death – Heather Redmond

Journaling vlogger Mandy Meadows strives to preserve her hyper-organised life while searching for her cousin’s killer in this twisty mystery: first in a brand-new series, and Heather’s first book for Severn House. “Really fun to read and hard to put down towards the end” says Kristin on GoodReads – and we’re sure you’ll agree!

Amazon UK / Amazon US

Death in the Garden City – Jeanne M. Dams

American Anglophile Dorothy Martin is a complete delight. Together with her husband, retired policeman Alan, she often turns amateur sleuth – this time helping friends investigate a series of perplexing petty crimes in Canada. Fans of Miss Marple and Jessica Fletcher will be in heaven.

Amazon UK / Amazon US

A Circle of Dead Girls – Eleanor Kuhns

Roll up, roll up, and enjoy the sights and sounds of the circus in the new gripping historical mystery starring weaver Will Rees. For a circus has arrived in Durham, Maine in the 1790s and the whole town is excited … until the body of a Shaker girl is found beaten in a field nearby. Perfect escapism for fans of clever mysteries with satisfying characters and well-drawn settings.

Amazon UK / Amazon US

And what’s Thanksgiving without overindulging just a little? OK, OK, we’ve given you a delicious seven-course meal of tempting treats, but save some space for these three fabulous reads out in the UK in December:

☕☕☕ Sandra Balzo’s delicious coffeehouse cosy Death of a Bean Counter (UK / US)

🗡️🗡️🗡️ Jeri Westerson’s darkly entertaining Cornwall-set medieval noir mystery Sword of Shadows (UK / US)

🎞️🎞️🎞️ Elaine Viets’ gripping forensic mystery – the first in a new series – A Star is Dead (UK / US).

Tried one of the above books and want to talk about it? Want to share your favourite female author with us? Got the perfect turkey recipe the world must know about?! Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s