Behind the Character – Henry Christie by Nick Oldham

9780727886804BAD BLOOD is the 24th novel in my Henry Christie series, a number which astounds me. The first one was published in 1996 (A Time For Justice), whilst I was still a cop (I wrote it whilst I was a custody officer and then a trainer at HQ) and the only goal was to get it published, never thinking I would go on to write more – until my then agent, the wonderful, sadly missed Bob Tanner got me a two-book deal and then the rollercoaster began and I’ve been winging it ever since.

Reflecting on the series, of which I am immensely proud, I now see that it’s the story of a man who just happens to be a cop, his personal and professional trials and tribulations, ups and downs, successes and failures. Henry progresses from being a young cop with an attitude, moving slowly, sometimes agonisingly, through the ranks to become a jaded, but highly principled detective who believes he was put on this earth to fight for the dead. This belief continues into his retirement, which is not as rosy as it could be as readers will discover in BAD BLOOD when Henry finds his rural idyll under threat from deranged killers and professional assassins. I think Bob would be quite proud of my continued output, as I couldn’t have even got going without his belief in me to start with.

Previous titles in this series (click on the jacket for more information).

9780727885319  9780727884701  9780727883902

Leave a Reply

