Cozy mysteries for the holidays

During the holiday season, we all want to curl up indoors and enjoy our favourite things. At Severn House, one of our favourite things is a good cozy mystery, and we’ve selected six of the best to recommend to you for the holidays. So sit back, relax, and see what catches your eye.

Oh, and Happy Holidays!

The Severn House Team x

 

Faux Pas by Shannon Esposito

9780727885395

ISBN 9780727885395       Available in hardback and eBook

Introducing ‘doggie-yoga’ instructor Elle Pressley, in the first Paws & Pose Mystery – featuring canine cuties, Florida sunshine, a sexy Irish PI . . . and murder most horrid.

Doggie-yoga instructor Elle Pressley just wants to teach her classes at Moon Key’s Pampered Pet Spa & Resort and save enough money to move out of her crazy mother’s house. But when her deceased childhood dog, Angel, shows up, she knows she’s about to be in danger. Sure enough, one of her clients winds up dead, and Elle is pulled head first into the investigation. For the prime suspect is Dr Ira Craft . . . the husband of Elle’s best friend, Hope.

Elle is determined to clear Ira’s name, for Hope’s sake, and she enlists the help of Irish private investigator Devon Burke. But someone is determined to stop Elle from uncovering the truth. And now that Devon’s involved, it’s not just Elle’s life that’s in danger: her heart is too . . .

“This series debut from the author of the Pet Psychic mysteries embraces the absurd and has fun poking at the wealthy characters” – Kirkus Reviews

The White Shepherd by Annie Dalton

9780727885210

ISBN 9780727885210       Available in hardback and eBook

First in the brand-new Oxford dogwalking mystery series: an intriguing new departure for award-winning YA writer Annie Dalton.


Anna Hopkins’ daily walk through Oxford’s picturesque Port Meadow is rudely interrupted when her adopted white German Shepherd, Bonnie, unearths a bloodsoaked body in the undergrowth. For Anna it’s a double shock: she knows the victim. Naomi Evans was a professional researcher who had told Anna she was working on a book about a famous Welsh poet, and who offered to help Anna trace Bonnie’s original owner.

From her conversations with Naomi, Anna is convinced that she was not the random victim of a psychopathic serial killer, as the police believe. She was targeted because of what she knew. With the official investigation heading in the wrong direction entirely, Anna teams up with fellow dogwalkers Isadora Salzman and Tansy Lavelle to discover the truth.

“An inventive plot, charismatic characters, and even some black humor combine to make this a good choice for suspense junkies” – Booklist 

“YA author Dalton makes her adult mystery debut with this classic British whodunit; its canine element will delight Susan Conant and Laurien Berenson fans.”- Library Journal

Buried in Beignets by J. R. Ripley

9780727885432

ISBN 9780727885432         Available in hardback and eBook

Maggie Miller’s attempt to run from her troubles leads her to Table Rock, Arizona, her own beignet café . . . and disaster.

Welcome to Table Rock, Arizona, the place where folks who aren’t too keen on the ‘mainstream’ move to. Maggie Miller has come here to forget about her dead husband. OK, so he isn’t really dead. That’s just what she tells everybody. Recently divorced, Maggie flees Phoenix and the sight of her husband and his new wife and moves to Table Rock to be closer to her own family. She’s also planning on opening her own beignet and coffee business.

But that dead guy in her storeroom might just put a kink in her plans. Unless she can figure out who killed him, and why, she might never open for business . . .

“Recipes and tips add seasoning to Ripley’s appealing mix of quirky characters and slapstick humor” – Publishers Weekly

Mrs Pargeter’s Principle by Simon Brett

9781780290744

ISBN 9781780290744    Available now in hardback and eBook

After a hiatus of seventeen years, we are delighted to announce the return of Mrs Pargeter.

For Mrs Pargeter, it is a matter of principle that she should complete any of her late husband’s unfinished business. Amongst the many bequests he made to her, perhaps the most valuable is his little black book, in which he listed all the people who ever worked for him. And as Mr P might have been a career criminal, these contacts come in very useful whenever she has a crime to solve.

Attending the funeral of the rich and respected Sir Normington Winthrop, because his is one of the names in the little black book, Mrs Pargeter sets out to discover the connection between Sir Normington and her late husband. Her investigations will draw her into a shady world of gun-runners, shifty politicians – and a kidnapped vicar.

“Great fun, a delightfully madcap romp” – Booklist starred review

“Brett’s customary wit and good humor abound” – Publishers Weekly starred review

Heirs and Assigns by Marjorie Eccles

9780727885289

ISBN 9780727885289    Available now in hardback and eBook

Introducing Detective Inspector Herbert Reardon in a new mystery series, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey.

November, 1928. Family and friends have gathered at the Shropshire country home of Penrose Llewellyn to celebrate the retired wealthy businessman’s 60th birthday. But the morning after what should have been a convivial supper party, their host is found dead in his bed – and the circumstances look decidedly suspicious.

As he questions the victim’s nearest and dearest, DI Reardon discovers there are several deeply concealed secrets lurking amongst the Llewellyn clan – and he is convinced that not everyone is telling him the truth, or at least not the whole truth. Those who stand to inherit most from Pen Llewellyn’s will – if it can be found – are under the strongest suspicion, and among them hides a ruthless killer.

“Will delight fans of the TV series Downton Abbey and authors Simon Brett and Kate Kingsbury” – Library Journal starred review

Death at Dovecote Hatch by Dorothy Cannell

9780727884800

ISBN 9780727884800        Available now in hardback and eBook

The second in the brand-new Florence Norris series.

November, 1932. Still reeling from the recent murder at Mullings, country estate of the wealthy Stodmarsh family, the peaceful little village of Dovecote Hatch is about to be rocked by news of another violent death. When mild-mannered Kenneth Tenneson is found dead from a fall down the stairs at his home, the coroner’s inquest announces a verdict of accidental death. Florence Norris, however – the quietly observant housekeeper at Mullings – suspects there may be more to it than that.

Florence’s suspicions of foul play would appear to be confirmed when a second will turns up revealing details of a dark secret in the Tenneson family’s past. Determined to find out the truth about Kenneth’s death, Florence gradually pieces the clues together – but will she be in time to prevent a catastrophic turn of events?

“Agatha Christie meets Downton Abbey in Florence’s second case, a charming reminder of all the country house murders of Britain’s golden age” – Kirkus Reviews

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s