Heads will Roll…Historical Mysteries from Severn House

Historical...leaderboard 1

9781780290768

Available now in the UK, in US & eBook from October 1. ISBN 9781780290768

A Perilous Alliance by Fiona Buckley

Widow Ursula Blanchard is urged to remarry for the sake of Queen and Country in this latest enthralling Elizabethan adventure

January, 1576. Widow Ursula Blanchard is in no position to refuse when Sir Francis Walsingham decides she must wed Count Gilbert Renard in order to build a strategic alliance with the French. Soon after the count arrives at her country home to pay court, one of Ursula’s household staff is found dead. An accident – or something more sinister?

“Murder, espionage and pirates! All the makings of another excellent mystery in this series. I have loved each and every installment in this series. I cannot recommend this series highly enough and I can’t wait for the next one!”G. Bitker, reviewer

9780727885111

Available now in the UK, in the US & eBook from Sept 1. ISBN 9780727885111

A Shameful Murder by Cora Harrison

Introducing the Reverend Mother Aquinas in the first of a brand-new historical mystery series.

Cork, Ireland, 1923. When Reverend Mother Aquinas discovers a body at the gate of the convent chapel, she immediately sends for her former pupil, Police Sergeant Patrick Cashman, to investigate. Dead bodies are not unusual in the poverty-stricken slums, but this one is dressed in a sumptuous evening gown.

“Harrison combines a savvy detective and a setting fraught with intrigue and tension for another winner” – Publishers Weekly Starred Review

Heirs and Assigns by Marjorie Eccles

Introducing Detective Inspector Herbert Reardon in a new mystery series, set in the Downton Abbey period.

9780727885289

Available now in the UK, US & eBook from Nov 1. ISBN 9780727885289

1928. Family and friends have gathered at the Shropshire country home of wealthy retired businessman Penrose Llewellyn to celebrate his 60th birthday. But when the host is found dead in his bed, DI Herbert Reardon discovers that there are several longstanding secrets lurking amongst the Llewellyn clan – and among them hides a ruthless killer.

“Set against the backdrop of post WWI England, Heirs and Assigns is a captivating mystery featuring a perceptive and compassionate Detective Inspector.”S. Sasse, reviewer

Murder in the Merchant’s Hall by Kathy Lynn Emerson

The intriguing new mystery featuring Tudor sleuth, Mistress Rosamond Jaffrey.

9780727885388

Available 28th August (UK), US & eBook from Dec 1. ISBN 9780727885388

When Lina Walkenden is found clutching a bloody knife over the dead body of her brother-in-law and guardian, there’s only one person she can turn to for help: her childhood friend, Rosamond Jaffrey. Rosamond must do all she can to save her friend – and keep herself and her family safe from a desperate killer.

“The author’s detailed knowledge of the time period is evident as she interweaves historical figures with her fictional characters . . . Rosamond is a feisty, fiercely independent, and very likable protagonist. Recommended for fans of Emerson’s previous series as well as for readers of Fiona Buckley, Karen Harper, and Amanda Carmack.” – Library Journal

9780727885418

Available in the UK from August 28, US & eBook from Dec 1. ISBN 9780727885418

The Chessman by Dolores Gordon-Smith

The wickedly entertaining new Jack Haldean mystery.

When a mutilated corpse is discovered in the sleepy English village of Croxton Ferriers, Jack Haldean finds an odd clue at the scene of the crime: a black marble chess knight with crystal eyes. Is murder just a game? It could be – to a killer who calls himself The Chessman.

“Very much written in the Golden Age style, this was an absolute treat.”Puzzle Doctor

Secret World by M. J. Trow

Christopher Marlowe tackles his most baffling case yet.

9781780290751

Available in the UK, and in the US & eBook Sept 1. ISBN 9781780290751

June, 1589. Now a famous playwright, Kit Marlowe is visiting his family in Canterbury. But it’s not the happy homecoming he had anticipated. A long-standing family friend has been found dead in her bed, killed by several blows to the head. Convinced the wrong person has been found guilty of the crime, Marlowe determines to uncover the truth.

“Trow once again delivers an engaging tale filled with a tangible sense of the history, culture, and customs of sixteenth-century England; laced with danger and humor; and featuring a brave, witty, and good-hearted hero. A top-notch read” – Booklist

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s